HISTORY

Launched in 1982 as an ecumenical project of area churches, We Care I.N.C. is a nonprofit with a simple mission: to be THE resource center for anyone in our area who has a need. Whether you're looking for opportunities to volunteer, donate or need assistance, We Care I.N.C. is here to help.

At the heart of our work are the over three dozen pantries, ministries and programs, from food and personal hygiene pantries, to heat assistance and seasonal programs all coordinated through our centrally located offices. We Care has a variety of programs, all designed to assist people facing an emergent need, or to help fill the ongoing gap that exists for so many in our community.  The ALICE population (which stands for Assest Limited, Income Constrained, Employed) is another segment of our communities that We Care works. 

In addition to connecting people with these ministries, We Care has partnered with a wide variety of human-service agencies, community organizations, support groups, and other resources in our area to better assist those who have a need. Don't know where to go?  We'll help you find the best resources for your unique situation, all in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

We Care also offers a plethora of volunteer opportunities - from working in one of the two offices, in any one of the pantries, or assisting clients through our programs.  We Care also offers annual workshops and special programs to the community, and to help those we serve  understand the circumstances surrounding poverty.  

Thanks to the generosity of countless volunteers and donors, every year We Care I.N.C. is able offer a helping hand to over 1,000 families in need.  Amazingly, during the COVID-19 crisis, We Care has served over 1,000 families a month.  This amounts to over 5000 adults and children.

Though we continue to be fueled by our faith tradition, We Care is an independent nonprofit that serves all people – period. Our goal is to imitate the life and teachings of Jesus by offering love, compassion and help to all. 

Do you, or does someone you know, need support? Are you looking for ways you can be involved? Call one of our offices for an appointment or stop in during office hours. We would be delighted to offer you a cup of coffee and a warm welcome! 

Board of Directors

We Care I.N.C. is run by a volunteer Board of Directors.
Paul Layendecker, President 

First Term Expiring 12/31/2020 

paul@wcsy.com 

Susan Murphey, Vice President 

First Term Expiring 12/31/2020 

susan.murphey@gmail.com 

Bob Straits, Treasurer 

First term expiring 12/31/2021 

straits44@yahoo.com 

Mary Gahan, Secretary

First Term Expiring 12/31/2021 

mkgahan@gmail.com 


Members At Large 


Rev. Dave Meister 

First Term Expiring 12/31/2022

revdmeister@gmail.com 

Jay Marcoux 

First Term Expiring 12/31/2022

jmarcoux24@gmail.com 

Jeannie VanZoren

First Term Expiring 12/31/2022 

vanzoren@comcast.net 

 

Staff
We Care I.N.C. provides over $2.5 million in goods and services each year with just 4 paid staff members, 1 full-time director and 3 part-time office staff.

Erika Morrison, Executive Director
erika@wecare-inc.org

Lynn Dick, South Haven Office Manager
lynn@wecare-inc.org

Debbie McPike, Bangor Office Manager
debbie@wecare-inc.org

Donna Saucedo, Hispanic Outreach Coordinator and Office Staff
donna@wecare-inc.org


PICTURED: Executive Director Erika Morrison, Volunteer Chad L. and Personal Care Pantry Coordinator Marion A.

We Care INC